Turkey imposes curfew on Hakkari, four towns

Photo Credit: Hurriyet Daily News

667 View

+ -

SULAIMANI — Turkish authorities have imposed a curfew on Hakkari province and four towns due to military operations against the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK).

Hakkari governorate said in a statement on Sunday (June 16) that the curfew would remain in effect for 15 days in the center of the province and four towns around it.

The curfew is because of military operations against PKK in those areas, the statement read.

Turkey is currently embroiled in a three-decade long conflict with the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) that has also seen the Kurdish group carrying out attacks on the state targeting Turkish security services.

Hundreds have died since the PKK and the Turkish state resumed hostilities after the collapse of the ceasefire in July 2015.

Southeastern Turkey has plunged back into some of its worst violence since the 1990s after a two-year ceasefire between the PKK and the state collapsed in July 2015.

(NRT Digital Media)