Two Kurdish lawmakers elected in UK’s House of Commons

Labour’s Feryal Clark (left) and Conservative Nadhim Zahawi (right) out talking to voters ahead of the UK's General Election (Photo credits: Twitter/FeryalClark and Twitter/@nadhimzahawi)

1426 View

+ -

SULAIMANI — Two Kurdish politicians were elected to Britain’s House of Commons on Thursday (December 12), according to final vote tallies.

NRT Digital Media reporter in London Zhiyan Moberg said that Labour’s Feryal Clark and Conservative Nadhim Zahawi were both elected, while two other Kurds running for office fell short.

Zahawi was reelected in Stratford-upon-Avon, where he secured just over 60 percent of the vote. He has represented the constituency since 2010.

Clark was elected in Enfield North with 51.8 percent of the vote.

“I am very happy that I became the first Labour Party Kurdish MP in the UK,” Clark told reporters after her win.

The election on Thursday saw a sweeping victory of Boris Johnson’s Conservative Party, which won 368 seats and secured its biggest House of Commons majority since Margaret Thatcher in 1987.

The Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn said on Friday he would stand down after his party faced its worst electoral defeat in 84 years.

(NRT Digital Media)